Playing hookey with Tecumseh

Yes, I played hookey today. So sue me, it’s my birthday! I’ll have a trip report later, till then enjoy the view!

As promised, here’s some intel and pics from my Mt. Tecumseh birthday hike. This 4,000-footer’s proximity to Waterville Valley ski area, unfortunately, makes it a gathering ground for the bane of most winter hikers – the dreaded glade snowboarder. Yup, to those snowboarders hardy enough to actually hike to the top of the trail Tecumseh is irresistible – it’s like a snowboard slacker magnet. It’s also insane to snowboard down the Tecumseh Trail due to its severe grade, rocks and how close you are to the trees. But they do it.
So, what’s a winter hiker to do in order to avoid hearing the dreaded words “dude, look out!” before being walloped by crazed Shaun White wanna-be? Why hit the trail early of course. Getting up before noon is the snowboarder equivalent of garlic to vampires, so I was up at 4:30 a.m. and on the trail by 7. What a great day!
With trail clear, I not only found a parking spot directly across from the trailhead, but had the whole beautiful Tecumseh to myself for the entire ascent. It’s a 4.4 mile round trip, and with temps in the valley around 20 degrees and a full clear day, I couldn’t have asked for more. The trail was packed firm all the way up. At the summit I switched to my new First Ascent down and was able to spend a casual 20 minutes lounging about, eating my yogurt pretzels and sipping coffee. Who needs Starbucks?
I didn’t see another soul on the trail until nearly back to the car. I did cut over to the ski area though to check out the action there, and see if I could catch a wipe out on film, and whatya know a snowboarder was nice enough to oblige me!
Anyway, here’s bunch of photos, the full album is here: http://danandmeenakshi.phanfare.com/4555813#imageID=92562504
Dan

Someone had left a rose on the summit, now it was frozen solid.

My Bigfoot on the summit shot, wasn’t fast enough for my head.

Great views of the Moosilauke Range (I think) on the way down.

A snowboarder in mid-crash! Wee!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing hookey with Tecumseh

  1. Peter Noonan says:

    U deserve a break today. 🙂

  2. Michele Downen says:

    Hope you had a great birthday Dan! Thanks for coming out Thursday night. 🙂

  3. Had a great birthday, thanks! Had lots of fun at Starbucks as well. We should do that more often, and by that I mean you should play and we should listen and sip coffee!
    Hey, you should become a follower!

Leave a Reply

