Lonesome Lake and Hut Portfolio

Dan took a quick run up to Lonesome Lake and Hut Sunday and put together a portfolio of shots of the area. The day was overcast, but very warm. Even in the winter, in not the best weather, this is one of the most beautiful places in the Whites. No wonder it’s also the most popular – during high season, there could be hundreds of people at any one time in or around the lake. Fortunately, on this day, it was a little more quiet, but just as pretty.
Let us know what you think. See the portfolio here:
http://danandmeenakshi.phanfare.com/4587163#imageID=94392669

This entry was posted in Trail Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lonesome Lake and Hut Portfolio

  1. Peter says:

    Great pics. Beautiful and spooky,

  2. Yeah an awesome set of photos, quite mad that the huge expanse is actually a lake (I assume) – gotta watch out for those sneaky sneaky ones, that would be brisk going through that.

    The lake district is stunning Dan, I try to get up there as often as I can, it's a couple of hours away which makes it a touch out of reach at this time of year. Am trying to get a date in the diary to do the coast to coast too, it's supposed to be awesome – Mr Wainwright really did have an eye for beauty.

    I've done a few long walks did a 3 dayer last year into the Cairngorm National Park in Scotland also did Kilimanjaro a couple of years ago and the Inca Trail a year or so before that – although we did have porters for those as self supporting at that altitude would have been a bit of pain. I'm in the process of redoing my diary for Kili and the Inca Trail which I'll sling up on my blog with photos at some point in the not too distant future.

    There are so many big walks I want to do though, just never enough time! I just can't tick them off quick enough and the list gets longer, not shorter – although I suppose that is the good news. We'd all be devastated if we'd run out of places to yomp.

  3. anniem says:

    Stunning! Your photos are making me look forward to next winter and it isn't even spring yet. I bet lonely lake is much lonelier in the winter. Beautiful photos, thanks for sharing.

  4. Thanks everyone, it is just a beautiful place. I've always thought it prettier in the winter because there's no tourists ruining it! Ha! (Actually, I guess I'm a tourist when I visit!)

Leave a Reply

