Moriah and the Carters prove to be worthy summits

(This is the first of two short Trip Reports from this weekend’s campaign. We’re breaking down each day into a separate report so our friends at TrailsNH can more easily tag each individual hike. Enjoy!)

Over the undercast: The valley clouds put on a show from near the summit of Mt. Moriah.

Well, our campaign over the weekend got us up to 41 peaks, but I had to earn each and every one of them! I started up the Carter-Moriah Ridge Trail with Meena and Neil, but ended up finishing the day at the Carter Hut alone as the two of them peeled off after tagging Moriah. Hot, muggy weather, heavy loads and a long day made it difficult for them to finish with me – they would have ended up hiking out in the dark.

As it was, I barely made it to the hut, climbing down 1,500 feet off Carter Dome in pitch dark. That really gets your adrenaline going!

Highlights:

Happy to be hiking with people: Even though Neil wasn’t able to make it all the way to South Carter and Meena was pooped, I was just happy to actually have company! Sometimes hiking is a social behavior and I haven’t gotten enough of that this month. It was good moral support for me.

Tired: It’s good moral support because I’m tired! After this weekend, I’ll have hiked nearly 160 miles this month with more than 40 more to go and being on the trail with someone – ANYONE – is a big boost. So… hint hint… climbing partners needed. Help me finish this thing!

Trails: All fine, though wet and muggy and slick. I actually used Stabilicers on my feet on the way down off Carter Dome because the rocks were so slick, it was like ice.

Hut central: There were twenty kids from a youth group plus adults at the hut so the place was rocking! It was all good though because when I walked in that door – beat up, stinky, dirty and no doubt pale from the climb down – they took pity on this weird back country figure who appeared out of the darkness and fed me all their leftovers from dinner. Red beans and rice and mac and cheese never tasted so good. Thanks guys, I needed that! I was asleep in seconds.

Don’t have time to upload all the pics today, so I’ll do that as soon as I can.

Dan

This entry was posted in Trip Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moriah and the Carters prove to be worthy summits

  1. Neil says:

    Lets re-phase your entry.. Neil could have continued chose it wiser not to come down in the dark alone

  2. cid70 says:

    you ROCK! but you knew that already, right? We miss you and think about the crazy journey you are on. Spaghetti waiting any time you want it!

Leave a Reply

